Home of the Civ V Unofficial Patch, G&K Enhanced, and Vanilla Enhanced Mod

Status update

Progress has been slow lately, but I wanted to give yall a status update. I’ll be releasing more updates for the mods in the near future. I’ve been rather restless this past week and struggling to focus on tasks. It’s been about a year since I graduated from college, and it’s unsettling to still not have employment yet in this economy.

Anyway, I’m working on bugfixes for the G&K version of Civup. I plan to continue work on that and the G&K Enhanced Mod.

Hope you’re enjoying G&K! πŸ™‚

9 responses

  1. Wow, I realize you weren’t posting that for sympathy, but I’m sorry to hear that. I live in a small town, I know how bad the lack of jobs can be =/.

    I really love the work you and the rest of the people who work on the mod do! I’m not that good at Civ but it made me actually understand Civ’s mechanics much better (I played IV, but never really understood it as well).

    I can’t wait till you can get a G&K Enhanced Mod up on the workshop πŸ˜€ (I keep accidently thinking I can still have the Piety and Rationalism policies at the same time)

    Do keep up the great work, it is very much appreciated! πŸ™‚

    July 6, 2012 at 6:29 am

  2. Gorhaax

    This economy is definitely tough. After 8 months of looking for a job I decided to go back to school to get my education in my field.

    July 6, 2012 at 10:37 am

  3. Thal I know the feeling as I helped the Civfanatics community myself for two years without a job either. There are a few factors at work:

    1) It is definitely tough times to find work, so stay true and steady and have faith.

    2) I wish you had an education scheme like we have in my country. In Australia, you can study as much as you need to because the gov’t pay’s your fees up front as a zero interest loan. Only once you are finished and earning an income above a minimum threshold, you then must pay back the fees to the gov’t but only then. If you fall back below the threshold, you do not have to pay back during that time. This is a productivity system that is in the gov’t interest to implement. We also have a student income scheme that provides an income below the poverty line, but is enough at least to buy bread and milk.

    3) There is a psychological trick that we play on ourselves. We are conditioned to think that we must have a job, otherwise we are misfits and “outcasts”. This is rubbish and you must resist any type of thoughts like this, because there is no connection between societal “status” and abilities and it is perfectly fine to be without a job. These days there is not only the problem of finding a career initially, but you begin the treadmill two or three times during your working life as you must transition from one career to another. Being out of work is very typical at a variety of phases in the working life. The only exception is if you are a lawyer, doctor, plumber or electrician! But not everyone can be one of these.

    4) Enjoy the experience of being able to learn more of this life from outside the main stream. When we are in the main stream, often we are being educated, but we stop learning. This is an important distinction.

    5) I think that these days, someone like you that is a qualified software engineer, very bright, able to work in a team cooperatively, and also with excellent attention to details, might need to “diversify” rather than “upskill”. What I mean is that increasingly, social sciences and software engineering are partners with each other, as new industries are forming.

    6) The “new” industry that is going to act as a buffer for society in the next couple of decades, to allow it to continue to function as a consumer based “business as usual” economy, will be the consumer robotics industry. Instead of “ipads” we will be buying “irobots”. It will be a temporary stop gap measure for our western economies until we have to face the realities that we live unsustainably. The difference is that consumer robotics needs cross discipline knowledge including psychology and philosophy.

    Cheers

    July 6, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    • Thanks for the detailed comment! It’s given me a lot to think about. πŸ™‚

      July 6, 2012 at 4:40 pm

  4. Hey man, Been using this mod for a long time now (can’t play without it haha) and I just want to say thank you for all your work and regular updates. I didn’t realise you had no job, that sucks man…. Been in similar situation myself last year but don’t worry I’m sure you’ll find something because you’re bloody awesome at what you do. What country you in? I’m in NZ and it seems the economy is on the way up on this side of the world.

    July 6, 2012 at 6:10 pm

  5. Hambil

    I will make a donation (small sadly) next paycheck. Great work you are doing. What kind of job are you looking for, where do you live, and are you willing to relocate?

    July 7, 2012 at 5:08 am

    • I’m looking for a junior-level game programming position. I currently live in the outskirts Dallas, Texas, and I’m willing to relocate.

      July 8, 2012 at 3:43 am

  6. ghiro

    thalassicus, I also would like to thank you for the hard work you have put into this mod. It made the game much more interesting and fun. I am sad to hear that your currently struggling to find a position where you can express your talent. Have you tried contacting Firaxis? they should appreciate your efforts! ^_^

    July 9, 2012 at 11:04 am

Leave a Reply

